top of page

Why DSP


When I was a senior in high school, I very much remember thinking that I knew exactly what I wanted to do, and how I was going to get there. I knew that I wanted to go to law school and join the Navy after, and I knew that the first step in that process was to go to Truman State University. I knew that I wanted to be a political science major, and I knew that all of this was exactly what needed to happen, and most importantly, I wouldn’t be anything like those poor saps that change their major and their mind once they got to college.

Naturally, I was proven wrong. I got to Truman, and I found that I just didn’t have the passion I thought I would for political science. I enjoyed some of the classes, and I liked the idea of research and such, but nothing I did was quite up to par. It was sort of like a puzzle that is missing a piece; you keep looking for it knowing full well it’ll never turn up, and just feel a bit off because of it.

At the end of my freshman year, I knew that I at least wanted to try something else. I had worked in sales for a few years at that point, and knew that it was something I very much enjoyed, so I figured why not try out a double major with Business Administration, with a concentration in Marketing. At the same time I was doing this, my girlfriend, Emma Miller, was going through her first semester in this organization, Delta Sigma Pi. All I heard from her was how amazing these people were, how she had all of these friends in her classes, and how much fun she was having. I, on the other hand, was still feeling lost in the Political Science department. So I promised her and myself once the next semester began, I would go out for recruitment in Delta Sigma Pi.

It’s been a year now since I went through the recruitment process, in the Fall of 2017. I have made a countless number of friends and I know that each one of them has had an extremely positive impact on my life. I know full well that I would not feel as much at home as I do in the School of Business if I wasn’t a Deltasig. Everything about the School of Business is amazing, and I have loved every experience and every professor I have been lucky enough to have. But the one thing that I know that has made the last year so phenomenal, is my brothers. Delta Sigma Pi is so much more than an organization that wears suits on Mondays. It’s a family that has a 40 year history on this campus. These are the sort of people I see myself caring about in decades to come, and these are people that have done so much for me without hesitation, simply because we are brothers.

I still want to go to law school, and I still want to join the Navy. But the one thing that I never expected to do; change majors and readjust, led me to some of the best people I know, and an organization for me to love. I wouldn’t feel at home at Truman without the sense of purpose and belonging that I found with Delta Sigma Pi. If you are reading this, and are even remotely considering coming out to recruitment, DO IT. Put yourself out there, meet some amazing people, and maybe you can be the next person we call our brother.

bottom of page