top of page

Embracing Uncertainty in College


The year is 2015 and I’m beginning my final semester of high school. I am stressed to the max. I remember saying to myself, “What am I going to do with my life!”, “I have yet to find my passion", and "I have no idea where I want to attend college, and I’m going to lose my friends in a few short weeks". It’s needless to say, things are very uncertain at this point in time. I am in a constant state of anxiety and worry. Am I going to live with my parents forever? Will I ever find a major I’m interested in?

Let’s fast forward to my freshman year of college. The first semester is more of the same. I spend most of my time adjusting being away from home. Everything is new and unpredictable. My major is undeclared, and I know only a handful of people. Before I can blink, it’s already Christmas break. I go home, and for a short period of time, I’m able to finally get away from all the pressure. One cold December evening, I decide to visit with my high school pal, Drake Raftery, who happens to also attend Truman State. We are discussing our first semester when all of the sudden he suggests that I look into the professional business fraternity that he just finished pledging. I am reluctant at first. I know absolutely nothing about the organization, but know deep down that I must get involved.

In the spring of 2016, I decide to just go for it. I attend Delta Sigma Pi recruitment events thinking, “This will look good on my resume'. Luckily, I received much more than a resume boost. Several weeks pass, and I’m accepted into the fraternity. I have the pleasure of meeting 85 unique and inspirational brothers. I now have a family away from home. Instead of knowing only 5 people, I now can’t walk across campus without seeing a familiar face. My freshman year is coming to a close and I have found a support system, however, there is still uncertainty with regards to my career path.

It’s now the fall semester of my sophomore year. I’m sitting in a Business law class staring at a young professor that’s fresh out of Yale Law School who is cheerfully lecturing in front of a room full of eager students. After several weeks, it finally hits me like a freight train: I’m really interested in Law! It’s one of the only subjects I’m truly passionate about and that I can picture myself pursuing. It’s at this moment that I decide to dual major in Business Management and Justice Systems in order to prepare myself for law school. I am finally able to relax. After several excruciating months, my life is starting to make sense.

We all face obstacles and uncertainty in life. Things will be unpredictable and scary. Many times, the only thing we can do is try our best and go with the flow. As long as you surround yourself with quality people and never stop searching for your passion, things will fall into place. Never give up and remember to always embrace uncertainty.


bottom of page